Pension Fund Committee

Meeting to be held on 10 June 2016

Electoral Division affected: None

Constitution: Chair, Deputy Chair, Membership and Terms of Reference of the Pension Fund Committee

(Appendix 'A' refers)

Contact for further information: Dave Gorman, (01772) 534261, Legal and Democratic Services dave.gorman@lancashire.gov.uk

Executive Summary

To note the Constitution of the Pension Fund Committee for 2016/17 and, in particular, the Chair, Deputy Chair, Membership and revised Terms of Reference of the Committee.

Recommendation

The Committee is asked to note:

- (i) The appointment of County Councillor Kevin Ellard and County Councillor Miles Parkinson as Chair and Deputy Chair, respectively, of the Pension Fund Committee for the 2016/17 municipal year;
- (ii) The membership of the Pension Fund Committee as set out in the report;
- (iii) The revised Terms of Reference of the Pension Fund Committee as set out at Appendix 'A'.

Background and Advice

The County Council, at its annual meeting on 26 May 2016, approved the appointment of County Councillor Kevin Ellard and County Councillor Miles Parkinson as Chair and Deputy Chair, respectively, of the Pension Fund Committee for the 2016/17 municipal year.

The Full Council also approved that the Pension Fund Committee should be comprised of 14 County Councillors (on the basis of 6 Labour, 6 Conservative, 1 Liberal Democrat and 1 Independent), together with 7 co-opted members.

The following County Councillors have subsequently been nominated to serve on the Pension Fund Committee for 2016/17:



County Councillors (14)

M Barron
L Beavers
C Pritchard
D Borrow
A Schofield
G Dowding
K Sedgewick
K Ellard
D Westley
J Oakes
D Whipp
M Otter
B Yates

The following voting co-optees have been nominated to serve on the Committee for 2016/17:

Voting Co-opted Members (7)

Lancashire Unitary Authorities:

Councillor Mark Smith (Blackpool Council)
Councillor R Whittle (Blackburn with Darwen Borough
Council)

Lancashire District Councils:

Councillor E Pope (West Lancashire Borough Council)
Councillor P Rankin (Preston City Council)

Trade Union Representatives:

Mr P Crewe Mr J Tattersall

Higher Education/Further Educations Establishments:

Mr A Milloy

Following the establishment of the Local Pensions Partnership Ltd (LPPL) on 1 April 2016, it has been necessary to revise the Committee's Terms of Reference to ensure that they continue to reflect the role of the Committee. A copy of the revised Terms of Reference, which were approved by the Full Council on 24 March 2016 and subsequently amended under the Council's urgent business procedure, are set out at Appendix 'A'.

Consultations

N/A

Implications:		
This item has the following implications, as indicated:		
Risk management		
No significant risks have been identified.		
Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers		
Paper	Date	Contact/Tel
N/A		
Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate		
N/A		